Day of Love

Happy Valentine’s Day, world!!!

I have been exceptionally excited about Valentine’s day this year… As in, a couple days right before New Year’s I think I was pinning cute heart-related decor and party ideas on my Pinterest. (Not that I did any of the DIY centerpieces or wall hangings- ain’t nobody got time for that!)

I think it’s because, beyond all the cheesy jewelers commercials, cheap stuffed animals, and obnoxious pink and red explosions you can find in any drugstore and/or walmart, it’s a day to celebrate love. And not just romantic love, as Hannah points out so well today in her blog (which is thoroughly delightful and entertaining!), but loving your friends, your family, and appreciating those around you who do so much.

In the midst of February (again, one of my least favorite months of the year, when winter throws its biting and treacherous tantrums), when snow lays itself over the earth like a pure, sparkling white blanket, then promptly turns to nasty, gray sludge, which somehow makes everything else gray and sludgy in appearance too- we get to put up banners of love, bright pink abounds and it’s ok, and eating copious amounts of chocolate and/or the dessert(s) of your choice is acceptable and, in fact, encouraged!

Though I did not spend hours creating a glorious, vintage recreation of a Valentine’s banner or any decor for that matter, I did buy this $3 banner that says “LOVE” from Target (from the $1 spot… which I maintain it should’ve been $1 since it was located there, but I guess I can’t really complain, especially considering how excited I am about it!). I felt ever so accomplished as I taped it to the mirror above our kitchen table… Here it is!

Love Banner Love Banner 3

We’re making the ugly beautiful. I was thanking God for that this morning and loving the fact that this need to celebrate, to do something special, to adorn our houses, offices, schools with decorations ranging from tacky party supply store quality to the height of Pinterest-perfection just reflects the way we’re wired to be like our Father. God is always making the ugly beautiful! It’s the story of my life… and I would hazard a guess it’s the story of yours.

I’m so thankful for the blessings of this week. My immensely supportive husband helped me open our studio space for my home business- a big brave step of faith for us! Because we are anticipating a new season- a season of massive growth. And my parents sneakily sent bright pink tulips to commemorate the occasion, which just made my day!

tulips

Even when some facet of life is uncertain- where money will come from, how you’ll maintain sanity in your household, figuring out what to do with your life, and whom to do it with, etc.- even with all of this, we stake our claim in joy and abundance. In our weakness, God’s strength is made perfect- how AWESOME is that!! So, I’m free to share my imperfect love with others, to bless them as far as is within my grasp, and to put up my lovely, $3 banner I bought at Target over our kitchen table.

Here is a song I wrote in February of 2010, before Ryan & I got married that June. (Video quality isn’t great, friends,  and it’s not even the smoothest performance of the song… but I hope you enjoy!)

(To see more music I’ve written, go to haylieallcott.wix.com/creatingbeauty and go to the Music page!)

Share some love today!

One thought on “Day of Love

Leave a Reply

